Skip Navigation
X
X

New Family Orientation 2021

 

For Campus Re-Opening FAQs, click here.

Admissions: Withdrawing a student, uniform questions, re-enrollment, Spirit Shop

Director of Admissions: Darnetta Forteau (dforteau@stphilips.com)

Athletics: All team sport registrations, game schedules, volunteer for concessions

Community Athletics Director: Eddie Fletcher (efletcher@stphilips.com)

School P.E. and School Athletic Coach: Dr. Marcus Johnson (mjohnson@stphilips.com)

Student Services Support: For academic, behavioral, social emotional, counseling, learning intervention/tutoring and academic advancement, educational evaluations, ADHD/LD matters and Parent University: parent education support and programs

Dean of Student Services & Family Affairs: Ramona Bailey (rbailey@stphilips.com)

School Counselor & Student Pathway-Guidance: Donovan Smith (dsmith@stphilips.com)

Curriculum Director: Tamasha Dickens-Govan (tgovan@stphilips.com)

Parental/Family Support: Considerations, Commitments, Concerns, Challenges & Compliance

Parent Liaison: Ametria Maryland (amaryland@stphilips.com)

Financing your St. Philip’s Education: Tuition Assistance, FACTS, Payments, and Parent background checks

Send general questions to financialaid@stphilips.com

CFO: Neal Choate (nchoate@stphilips.com)

Business Office Manager: Kawana Moore (kmoore@stphilips.com)

Curriculum Questions:

All Subjects: Tamasha Govan (tgovan@stphilips.com)

Special Subjects: Computer Science/Technology, Spanish, Latin, Music, P.E., Theater/Dance, Visual Arts:  Ms. Ms. Alicia (Ms. Iv) Yvette Holmes-Busby, aholmes@stphilips1600.org)

School Division Support: general questions

Fine Arts Program: Ms. Alicia (Ms. Iv) Yvette Holmes-Busby (aholmes@stphilips.com)
Early Childhood (pk2-Kindergarten): Telissha Wesson, Director of Early Childhood (twesson@stphilips.com)
Lower School (1st-3rd grades): Jacquelyn Andrews, Director of Lower School (jandrews@stphilips.com)
Middle School Prep (4th-5th grades): Jacquelyn Andrews, Director of Middle School Prep (jandrews@stphilips.com)
Middle School (6th -8th grades): Dr. Shaunaisea Henderson (shenderson@stphilips.com)

School Nurse/School Health Clinic: 
School Registered Nurse: Christina Hanford, BSN, RN (chanford@stphilips.com)
 

Advisory meetings provide an opportunity for the students to get to know each other and their advisors better. Advisories also give students a chance to relax and to share experiences with each other. Parents communicate regularly with Advisors through written comments and parent conferences as well as through more informal channels.  

Parents will wait in the Welcome Center . We request parents not sit in the gym during morning duty. The Chapel is open Wednesday and Friday mornings for parents to start the day in prayer and join us for Chapel. Designated seating will be provided for parents. 

Daily Chapel is always livestreamed via our Facebook and Livestream pages. 

Parent School Association (PSA) 
Purpose: To promote harmony in our school environment by supporting the mission, program, and activities of our school.  
Primary Focus: Fundraising, Volunteer Solicitation, Promote School Spirit, Outreach, Parent-to-Parent & Parent-to-School Communication

Homeroom/Advisory Parents 
Purpose: In cooperation with classroom teachers, homeroom parents coordinate grade level activities during the school year and lower/middle school parties. Homeroom parents are often called on to organize their parents to assist with PSA projects and select committee activities. All plans and details for class events must be reviewed and approved by the classroom teacher before being finalized by room parents.

Mission Moms 
Purpose: Support the school and students by coordinating various initiatives, I.e. prospective family recruitment, support school-wide programs, and other activities to support parents and families

Dad’s Club 
Purpose: The Dad’s Club is an outreach committee of the Parent School Association. Dads meet once a month (or as scheduled) to help maintain the school grounds, volunteer to mentor boys in the school who may not live with their fathers, connect through Dad’s Field Day, make a visible impact in the immediate community, support school-wide events, etc. 

Yes:  
- Parents must attend each parent/teacher conference 
- Attend the required, mandatory three (3) meetings: Parent School Association (PSA), Parent University, or Pastry with the Principal. If you cannot attend, please send an email to notify the school and send a representative on your behalf.  

Please be sure to read the Parent Student Handbook, including the Parent Responsibility Agreement

RenWeb/ParentsWeb (grades, homework, week at a glance), Weekly Newsletters, Principal’s Pen, Remind 101 APP (reminders, pictures, last minute classroom updates and changes), Text Message, Emails, St. Philip’s News & Updates e-newsletter

- Please reference the Parent Student Handbook for the Uniform Policy 
- Vendor: Flynn O’Hara  
- Full uniform everyday 
- Dress for Success Mondays – official uniform; no shorts or skorts 
- PE Uniforms – required Kinder -6th grade, below wear sneakers 
- Label EVERYTHING 
- Spirit Shop managed by Admissions – spirit gear and PE Uniforms online 

Saints of the Week – Students are rewarded during normal scheduled Chapel services on Friday for their classroom participation and overall academic and behavioral success during the week

Titans – The Titan Award is an award that strives to recognize those exceptional students who meet expectations on a consistent and regular basis. It is awarded to any third through sixth grade student who meets all the requirements. The awards are distributed monthly.

Awards Ceremonies – twice per year

See Parent Student Handbook for more details  

For Early Childhood (PK2-Kindergarten) and Lower School (1st-3rd grades) students, afternoon carpool begins at 3:30pm. and ends promptly at 3:45pm. Students remaining after 3:45pm will be transitioned to After School Care and may be subject to an After School Care fee. Only siblings of Middle School Prep and Middle School students will remain in afternoon carpool with their siblings until 4:00pm. All children not picked up by 4:00pm will be entered into the After School Care program and fees will apply.

If you need to pick your child up prior to carpool contact your child’s end-of-the-day teacher or the front desk prior to 2:00pm. The parent must notify and get confirmation the teacher received the message. If the teacher or front desk is not notified before 2:00pm you will have to wait until 4pm to pick your child up in after school care.

Lost and Found is located in the Snyder Gym in the open area next to the coach’s office. Labeling all clothing is strongly recommended.